January 3, 2007

Should people with rich parents fill out the FAFSA?

Posted in FAFSA, The Financial Aid Process at 9:22 AM by Joe From Boston


I hear this question a lot. In my opinion, the answer is an unqualified YES!!!

Why, you may ask? Well, lets look over a few points –

  1. It can’t hurt. If you’re wealthy enough to pay for college, filling out the FAFSA won’t penalize you, you simply won’t get any federal loans. Which you wouldn’t anyway.
  2. If your situation changes, it can help. Say something suddenly happens and your situation changes drastically to the point where you really need loans. Submitting the FAFSA even while “rich” can help document your changed situation in case anything should happen.
  3. Scholarships. Even rich people try to get scholarships, for example for recognition in a given field. Many scholarships want you to file the FAFSA. True, most of these are need-based scholarships, but it really is better to have all your bases covered.
  4. Teach your kids the value of a dollar. Yeah, it’s a bit hokey but it’s true. I’m remembering in particular one of my husband’s college roommates. He’d call home every semester or so and ask for a few thousand dollars! He didn’t understand the value of money as he’d always had lots and never had to pay for anything himself. He actually thought there were no poor people in the United States!!! We managed to inject a little bit of reality into him, thankfully, but I can’t stress enough that it’s important for your child to learn budgeting BEFORE they go to college. This includes people with an unlimited supply of funds. Filling out the FAFSA with your child can be an important educational tool in learning where money comes from, where it goes and how to budget it.
14 Comments »

  1. Loan Broker said,

    I think that is one of the most important info for
    me. And i am happy studying your article. But want to remark on
    few basic things, The site taste is great, the articles is
    truly excellent : D. Good task, cheers

  2. It’s great that you are getting thoughts from this content as well as from our argument made at this place.

  3. Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that
    go over the same topics? Many thanks!

  4. Stephan said,

    I needed to thank you for this fantastic read!!
    I certainly enjoyed every little bit of it. I’ve got you book-marked to look at new stuff you post…

  5. You can certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you
    who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  6. Touche. Solid arguments. Keep up the great effort.

  7. Hey there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let
    you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

  8. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all peeps you really
    know what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally consult with my web site =). We will have a link alternate contract between us

  9. Hi there everyone, it’s my first go to see at this website, and content is in fact fruitful in favour of me, keep up posting these articles.

  10. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your web-site. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to
    see a great blog like this one nowadays.

  11. Awesome! Its really amazing content, I have got much clear idea about from this content.

  12. I was suggested this website by means of my cousin. I am no longer positive whether this put up is written by way of him as no one else recognise such exact
    about my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thanks!

  13. Meridith said,

    Wow! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Excellent choice of colours!

  14. Being that we already seem to be sharing factors regarding Should people with rich parents fill out the FAFSA? Student Loan Info for Parents, There are so many opportunities available online that will allow you to earn passive residual income without having to invest anything, they will not require any money or too much effort on your part.


Leave a Reply

