August 18, 2009

Do I need the FAFSA?

Posted in FAFSA, Parent PLUS Loans, The Financial Aid Process tagged , , , , , at 8:37 AM by Joe From Boston


Yes, if you want the PLUS Loan, you need to fill out the FAFSA.

All Federal loans require the FAFSA to be filled out – this includes PLUS, Grad PLUS, Stafford and Perkins loans.  Even many scholarships require the FAFSA.
Also, remember that financial aid is first-come, first server, so next year make sure you get it in early!  File it in January if you can.  If you need to make an amendment, that’s fine, but get it in early!  Money is tighter than ever these days.

2 Comments »

  1. simon said,

    Consolidation Loans combine several student or parent loans into one bigger loan from a single lender, which is then used to pay off the balances on the other loans.

  2. Carolynne said,

    Sallie Mae has been really nasty to me. I was 45 days late on a $30.00, hidden fee $80.00, even though I mailed them $60.00 and another 30.00 payment. When I called Sallie Mae I tried to talk to the agent everytime I spoke He would start saying don’t talk when I talking. I got fustratued and hung up. Five minutes I called back to talk to a supervision. My phone calls go directly to Sims Assc. (collection agency). They have blocked me from calling Sallie Mae. And what I understand the student loan company are suppose to work with a person for a certain amount of time, which I believe is 60 days. This month I sent a check to Salllie Mae and quess what they took the check and made it look like I had paid online and made the check in the amount of $307.80. Which at the most I only behind the $80.00 hidden fees. I contacted the bank and the Attorney General. But you know when the got through I had no money let to buy the essential things we needed. I take care of my 83 year old father, on a fixed income, also my husband is disabled and I am 57 and can not find a job. They really messed me up. My husband is a diabitic and we had to borrow money to buy his medication. They do not care what they do to anybody. They need to be enforced to follow the laws. What is going on when a company can do as they please.


Leave a Reply

